Today is the start of a string of days off from work, a little vacation of sorts. Last night I was feeling so lazy that I almost didn’t even turn on my computer to check my email. Needless to say, a blog post was beyond me. I had thought that today I would write a long post about Memoirs of Hadrian since I had the time to think carefully about it, but now I am just not feeling it. I know I keep dangling writing about the book out like a carrot (maybe not a carrot, could be a stick, depending on how you look at it). You’d think I didn’t like the book but I did. Really.

Today I thought instead of a book review I’d pop in and write something about blank books. Have you heard that Bram Stoker’s notebook has been discovered? It contains bits of his earliest writing efforts and hints of the style and ideas he would later use in Dracula. The notebook is conveniently found and due to be published in time for the 2012 centenary of Stoker’s death.

What does that have to do with blank books? Well, Stoker’s notebook was a blank book until he wrote in it. I came across this interesting YouTube video lecture of “The Blank History of the Blank Book.”

Blank books have been around for as long as books have. Used mostly in business to keep records, the manufacture of them has been, and is, a large segment of the book industry. I’m not certain there are so many new patents for them these days, but in earlier times, patents for various bindings for blank books were a big deal. Who knew? I was also surprised to discover that three-ring binders are considered blank books as are spiral notebooks.

Personally, when I think of blank books I think of books sold in bookshops for use as diaries. I have a shelf full of three decade’s worth of blank books that contain my thoughts and dreams and fears and the goings on of my life. In addition to the ones with writing in them there is probably another decade’s worth of still blank ones waiting to be filled. I have to admit though that my pace in filling these blank books has decreased since I began blogging and nearly stopped when I began library school. I am just beginning to make my way back to them.

One thing that struck me as I was watching the video is that is seems the more digital our daily world becomes, the more people express interest in things like blank books, handwriting, letters, printed books. Is it nostalgia? Fear of change? Is it a worry about losing a connection to the simple, the mundane, the physical as we jet off into cyberspace where there is very little to ground us in the world and frequently a tenuous connection to context? Or is it something else?

What is the likelihood of a not yet famous young writer’s notebook being discovered in an attic in 100 years? Do young writers today keep paper notebooks? And if not, if all their notes are on a computer, what will we lose by their disappearance? Does the discovery of Stoker’s notebook make a difference to readers in general? If it doesn’t, then will the loss of discovering a current writer’s notebook in 100 years matter? I don’t know the answer to any of these questions, just thinking out loud and welcome your thoughts on the matter.

On a different note, I will be participating in the 24-hour read-a-thon tomorrow. I am happy to say I miscalculated my start time. I thought I was going to have to start at 5 a.m. but I don’t start until 7 a.m.. I’m an early riser but the idea of getting up two hours before sunrise to start reading had me rolling over in bed and pulling the covers over my head. But 7 I can do, no problem. There is still time to join in if you haven’t signed up yet!